Wrongdoings in the horror community

I really do try my best to stay out of other people’s online battles.  I consider myself a neutral person when it comes to online friendships, and I don’t like rumors being spread.  I’m reblogging my friend Rebekah Herzberg’s post because online bullying needs to stop.  I’m a believer that you should always talk to the people you have disagreements with instead of hiding behind a computer and causing problems.  I’ve also posted the link to her blog page, and I encourage you to check it out.  The links to her true pages are on her blog.

http://yourfriendlyneighborhoodjewishgirl.blogspot.com/2014/04/how-to-deal-with-online-impersonation.html?zx=be645579028491e6

HOW TO DEAL WITH ONLINE IMPERSONATION AND HARASSMENT

There are times when being a public figure is fun but there are also times when it’s not so fun. For three years I have been harassed and impersonated by Elske McCain. This post isn’t for attention or to bash said person. After researching online impersonations and harassment and reaching out to people who have been in the same boat I have found that writing about the experience and letting everyone know that THIS is the only Rebekah Herzberg Facebook and THIS is the only Rebekah Herzberg fan page helps. Lets not forget that THIS is my one and only personal blog and THIS is my one and only Twitter. Any other pages of me are fakes created by this woman. In the past people have come to me and apologized as they explained they helped her create these pages. Apparently, all of them do this frequently and she has done this to several people. Others have said that this helps their situation tremendously BUT this is also fighting fire with fire and giving the person the attention they thrive off of.

I am embarrassed to admit that this experience has caused me emotional distress because that’s exactly what she wants to hear. She will rejoyce in knowing that she caused me so much misery. In her own little world that may be righteous but for people like me and every other sane person in the world, this is not normal behavior. There’s nothing else I can do but seek legal action. In Texas, this is a 3rd degree felony that could land perpetrators behind bars for nearly ten years. Arizona is almost as severe. Luckily, I have found a district attorney in Houston who has dealt with cases like these and he has been very helpful. If any of you have any tips or sound advice on these situations please feel free to comment but do not simply tell me to ‘ignore’ the problem. I ignore the problem for months and this person continues to attack my family. This goes far beyond ignoring the problem when my family is being harassed and when this person is impersonating me.

Yesterday I took my son to the Texas Children’s Hospital for testing. Our nerves were already rattled. Luckily, the doctor’s said he was fine and did not conduct any further tests so we decided to spend the rest of the day shopping. In the midst of this adventure it had come to my attention that Elske McCain was impersonating me ONCE AGAIN on Facebook and reporting my photos and photos of my own children for copyright infringement. I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around the motives of this act and how one manages to have this much free time. I mean, reporting photos must have taken her HOURS which just makes me feel bad because she has absolutely nothing going on in her life to pull her away from the computer. FB does have a new form for people like me to fill out in hopes that this will never happen again. I have to refute her report with personal information PROVING that I am who I say I am and they will restore my photos.

First, they will ask Elske in the fake email she provided to provide proof or a court order showing that she is Rebekah Herzberg. This will obviously never happen so my photos will be restored and I will be able to keep my profile. Then I can actually file a report for harassment with her actual IP address that she used to carry out these acts. First she tried reporting my photos for nudity, even photos of my son. That obviously did not work and she has all the time in the world so why not spend hours taking it further? She obviously feels like I have done something to her. I do not know what that is but Elske, I am here if you need someone to talk to. I think the reason why you spend so much time doing things like this to numerous people online is because you are in dire need of attention or someone to talk to. Please just talk to me. It doesn’t have to be this way. My family and my friends should not have to suffer for your mental well being.

I would also like to remind everyone not to attack Elske McCain for my benefit. I am a grown woman. I can use MY OWN NAME to tell her how I feel about her odd behavior. The woman is mentally unstable and threatens to commit suicide PUBLICLY on a daily basis. Though she is in the wrong, I cannot stand behind anyone who willingly attacks the mentally ill. Creating fake accounts, attacking children, and harassing people they feel threatened by may be her way of dealing with issues but it’s certainly NOT MINE!

I am going to continue on my successful path doing what I love. You may scare several people with your behavior but you do not scare me. Enjoy your remaining years doing anything else than what you are doing now. I am so tired of talking about you and fearing for my family. I would also like to plead with you to please stop harassing guests on my podcasts and other women in horror. Creating fake profiles of them and using my home town on the profile is not clever. It only makes you look worse but like I said, we are all here to talk if you need somebody to talk to. I still plan on pressing charges unless you come forward and agree to leave me and my family alone for good. I don’t have to make up fake restraining orders and unlike you I can actually afford an attorney.

About Violet VanDoren

Violet is my name, and horror is my game. I read it, write it, and watch as much grindhouse/horror that I can get my hands on. However, I wouldn't say I'm an expert. I'm forever a student in the art of gore. As far as writing goes, I've touched on it here and there in the past. I've had some change-of-life experiences happen to me and then out of nowhere....BOOM! The call of being a horror writer exploded into my life. Yeah, don't ask. Too many details, too little time. I may post some excerpts once in a while just to tease you. If my writing fits your fancy then maybe you'll buy my books when they get published. I'll definitely keep you posted. If there's a book or movie title you think I would enjoy, don't hesitate to swing it my way!

Posted on April 6, 2014, in Musings and Other Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That has to be a scary experience, realizing someone has assumed your identity online and is intent on making your life miserable. As disturbing as this personal account is, I think what’s evem more disconcerting is the fact that there were other people who eventually owned up to helping this unstable woman engage in the behavior. This is exactly why I tend to not regard cyber associations with the same gravitas as flesh and blood ones- the disconnect offered by cyberspace allows for indoviduals to engage in behavior that is exponentially worse than what most people would be comfortable with if they had to see the person they’re hurting face to face . This really is a damned shame. I hope Ms.Herzberg can move past this and find some closure to this truly awful set of circumstances.

  2. You’re right that some people online will engage in behavior that is unacceptable instead of being honest face to face. Just like Rebekah, I don’t like discord. I’ve witnessed first-hand the battle that her and some others have been engaged in, and it’s very petty and unnecessary. All in the same week, I’ve been harassed, I lost a friend, and some last minute details of a planned event got me unnerved. I had to distance myself from it all because it was too much. I now have to be super careful of who I allow as Facebook friends because I’m considered associated with Rebekah. It’s bullying at its worst, and it’s a shame that these are supposed adults that are doing this.

  3. Jebus, that’s horrible. It sounds like the lass has some mental health issues. Me and a couple of friends were targeted about five years ago by a guy who used to be friend(IRL) but who lost the plot through a diet of vodka and speed. He used to post on public web forums about me being a ‘traitor’ and trying to get me to meet him for a fight(“knives or hammers, you choose” he said, seriously!) and started accusing another friend of being a paedophile in direct messages to his partner(they had a daughter).

    My friend who bore most of his ire wound up having to take him to court, which upset him even more as he’s a lovely chilled out hippy who hated the idea of having to get the authorities involved when the guy obviously had mental health problems. 😦

    It’s just a matter of how much you can take I suppose. I have a relatively thick skin but the sort of relentless abuse that your friend talks about would affect me no end. I hope she manages to get it sorted.

  4. I’m going to help her try to find something legal wise that she can do. There’s gotta be something against cyber bullies.

Leave a Reply

