Shameless plugging

One of the aspects of making a name for yourself in the world of authorship is that you have to network, especially if you’re going the self publishing/indie route.  In my hours of searching through endless posts and threads on the matter, I’ve come to 2 conclusions:

1.  You’re a smart cookie who knows the ropes and knows the feel of the audience, so you’re on your way to enriched fulfillment in the world of being a bonafide author.  Or…..

2.  You’re a complete a-hole troll who is only out to whore your work ad nauseam until someone takes notice.

Where’s the happy medium in this situation?  I say there isn’t one.  There’s always going to be haters.  Whether you advertise your newest book once a month or every day, people are going to complain, people are going to judge, and people are going to be sour pusses.

I say all this because I’ve already seen some negativity from people when I’ve advertised my name.  No, I don’t have anything published right now, and there’s nothing wrong with that.  My heart is in the right place, and I WILL get get a book out eventually.  I have my own website and my own networking cards so far.  Right now, my motive is to get my NAME out there so that I can have the much desired audience when my book is finally out (later this year!).  Is that wrong?  Absolutely not!  I believe now is the best time to network!

My advice is to advertise away.  How else are you supposed to reach the masses if you don’t get down into the trenches and do some serious work?  In my opinion, if I reach only one person with my repeated attempts at attaining an audience, I’ve done my job.

About Violet VanDoren

Violet is my name, and horror is my game. I read it, write it, and watch as much grindhouse/horror that I can get my hands on. However, I wouldn't say I'm an expert. I'm forever a student in the art of gore. As far as writing goes, I've touched on it here and there in the past. I've had some change-of-life experiences happen to me and then out of nowhere....BOOM! The call of being a horror writer exploded into my life. Yeah, don't ask. Too many details, too little time. I may post some excerpts once in a while just to tease you. If my writing fits your fancy then maybe you'll buy my books when they get published. I'll definitely keep you posted. If there's a book or movie title you think I would enjoy, don't hesitate to swing it my way!

Posted on February 14, 2014, in Musings and Other Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Excellent post, Violet. Authors -particulalry self published independent authors who are working on their own without the resources of a major publishing house- HAVE to self promote tirelessly or their work just won’t get read. End of discussion.

    I’ll add that the burden here actually falls upon the moderators of various groups , pages or websites when it comes to whether or not self promoting authors get out of hand, since those same moderators are often the ones who complain the loudest, usually that their group is no longer what they intended it to be. I find this complaint particularly asinine when it’s regsitered in the context of a Facebook page, since Facebook exists for people to share ideas and links. If these people would just set defitinitive guidelines and establish what and how often people can post from the day of the site/page’s inception, a happy balance can be maintained between visiting a page to self promote and visiting a page to actually interact with the community it attracts. To blame the authors themselves for making an effort to increase their readership and – in many instances- make a living whne they are freely offered a window to do just that is both unfair and ridiculous.

  2. A delicate balance for a blog, for sure. I have 5 different catagories that I blog about. I make sure my self promotion is 20% or less of the posts. As far as Facebook, I have no idea, I see writers post about themselves constantly, so much it gets me annoyed, yet, everytime I post something that folks see as self-serving, I get the cold shoulder.

  3. A very good point. No one complains when Random House plugs its authors. So why should they when an independently publishing author (who is their own publishing company) does the same? If you do not promote, you will never get further than your mommy reading your work and saying “That’s nice, dear.” So yes, promote the hell out of your work. I wrote a piece on networking for independent publishing authors over on Rune Morgan Horror you and your readers may be interested in, “Network or Die”. http://wp.me/p4hSDk-3g

Leave a Reply

