I just love horror….don’t you?

I had to take a break from studying and finally got around to watching Motel Hell/Deranged.  I love 80s cheese.  You can’t miss Ms. Balbricker’s (Porky’s) performance in Motel Hell, played by Nancy Parsons herself.  Deranged was just frickin’ cool.  Roberts Blossom plays the Ed Gein-type character, and boy does he do a good job.  Creepy old man goodness.  

I can’t say the same about Jigoku.  My gosh, it was a snoozefest.  I don’t read up on movies before I watch them, so I had an open mind.  I did like the FX, especially for a movie that was made in 1960.  It was really ahead of its time, artistically speaking. 

I’m not really good at writing film reviews because I always feel like they come out like book reports.  I’m the type of person that says, “Hey.  This movie’s cool, so go watch it.”  Yeah.  No imagination there.  Anyhoo….

I’m glad to announce, however, that this week I will be premiering my own domain.  My blog will officially be violetvandoren.com!  I’m so glad to see where this year is already taking me.  Lots of stuff happening.  It’s slow going but it’s going, and that’s all that matters.  

About Violet VanDoren

Violet is my name, and horror is my game. I read it, write it, and watch as much grindhouse/horror that I can get my hands on. However, I wouldn't say I'm an expert. I'm forever a student in the art of gore. As far as writing goes, I've touched on it here and there in the past. I've had some change-of-life experiences happen to me and then out of nowhere....BOOM! The call of being a horror writer exploded into my life. Yeah, don't ask. Too many details, too little time. I may post some excerpts once in a while just to tease you. If my writing fits your fancy then maybe you'll buy my books when they get published. I'll definitely keep you posted. If there's a book or movie title you think I would enjoy, don't hesitate to swing it my way!

Posted on February 3, 2014, in Musings and Other Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love Horror as well, Violet. I think a lot of Horror movies are way underrated for the stories they provide. Especially those 80s Horror Movies. Love them quite a bit, but there’s been quite a lot of features lately, in the last 10 years, that have really done a great job with the genre (Cabin in the Woods anyone?). Anyway, great post!

Leave a Reply

