What intimidates you in writing?

I honestly don’t think I have what it takes to write mysteries or sci-fi.  I’ve read some crazy stories in my past and think, “How did they come up with THAT?”  Some of the stories are so intertwined and confusing, yet make so much sense.  And I’m not talking about Nancy Drew here.  It makes me wonder if mystery writers have a streak of criminal in them.  Or that sci-fi writers are from another planet to come up with some of the stuff I’ve read/seen.  Well, I tip my hat to you, mystery and sci-fi folks.  You’ve officially blown my mind.

About Violet VanDoren

Violet is my name, and horror is my game. I read it, write it, and watch as much grindhouse/horror that I can get my hands on. However, I wouldn't say I'm an expert. I'm forever a student in the art of gore. As far as writing goes, I've touched on it here and there in the past. I've had some change-of-life experiences happen to me and then out of nowhere....BOOM! The call of being a horror writer exploded into my life. Yeah, don't ask. Too many details, too little time. I may post some excerpts once in a while just to tease you. If my writing fits your fancy then maybe you'll buy my books when they get published. I'll definitely keep you posted. If there's a book or movie title you think I would enjoy, don't hesitate to swing it my way!

Posted on January 10, 2014, in Musings and Other Random Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Michelle Mueller

    An interesting question! I’m actually intimidated by the idea of writing romances. In my own stories, which sometimes have elements of romance (as that’s just part of life), I still find it easier to have a character kill someone than fall in love. Love is such an inexplicable emotion that I feel incapable of adequately writing it, sometimes.

    • I second you on that. Can’t even imagine myself writing romance, unless I want the reader to get a good laugh.

      • Michelle Mueller

        Yes, I know how you feel. One of the writers in my critique group is a romance author / editor. I told her once that one day I’d randomly write a romance (and send it to her), just to prove that I could, and she laughed so hard she started to cry. 🙂

      • lol!! That must’ve been really embarrassing. I don’t have the courage to show any living soul my shots at writing romance 😦

      • Michelle Mueller

        Well, we both ended up laughing until we were crying. But, needless to say, I haven’t yet given it a shot. If I haven’t even written it yet and she’s already laughing, then I don’t see a lot of hope for me!

      • Well, here is a question, since we both are not good with writing romance, I was curious if you read romance novels a lot? I just never go near the romance section. Could this be part of the reason why someone can’t write romance?

      • Michelle Mueller

        The only romance novels I’ve read recently are the ones that I read for my critique group. I’ve stumbled upon or accidentally bought them in the past, but usually only when nothing else was available. That could be why, though. From what I’ve learned from my friend, there’s a certain style to writing romance novels. It’s just not for me.

      • Interesting. I don’t plan on writing a whole romance novel at any stage, but sometimes even a fantasy or a sci-fi novel will require a romance as its main or sub-plot. That’s where I’m sure I’ll screw it all up. Nothing to it but practice, I guess.

      • If I had to touch on romance in my stories, I’d keep it short and sweet. There’s no way I could go in depth with the lovin’. 🙂

      • I’ve actually never tried it. Maybe I’ll write a short-romantic story in my next post. That would be fun… I guess!

      • Just promise you’ll tell me if it made you laugh 🙂

      • If it involves sex, I’m most certain that it will. 😛

      • Let us see how it turns out. 🙂 Setting in front of my keyboard tomorrow is going to be awkward. 🙂

  2. Ugh….romances. I shudder at the thought. It’s not that I can’t write them, but I just won’t. Maybe it’s the prude in me, but I can’t get through the erotic scenes.

  3. I did have an idea for a SF story. Then I thought “Oh but what about X, Y and, possibly, Z?” So the idea morphed into a book. Then an entire series of George RR Martinesque books. Then I just put the idea down and backed away slowly…

  4. Michelle Mueller

    Thanks for following me, Violet. And yes, I agree. I also can’t get through those types of scenes. Even the lighter romances come off as way too — fake? impossible? cheesy? lacking the actual depth of love? (whatever that may be). But perhaps I’m being too hard on the genre. It still scares me though. Anyway, I look forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

    • Cheesy is a GREAT word to describe it. I read a romance anthology not too long ago that I couldn’t even finish because the dialogue was completely unrealistic. The “pillow talk” was just asinine and laughable. This is why I refuse to read 30 Shades of Grey. Thanks for following me, too! 🙂

  5. I’d specifically say “hard” Sci -Fi , the type of science fiction based more around humanity’s technological advances, like the works of the late Arthur C. Clarke or Isaac Asimov. That’s the sort of work that attracts the readers who have Phd’s in astrophysics and applied engineering, the sort of folks who will savage the latest Star Trek film because the technical specs of one of the Starfleet ships is all wrong according to the blueprints published in the Starfleet Technical Manual ( I did not make that example up). I’m not trying to demean those fans- I’m a HUGE fan of that sort of science fiction myself (Arthur C. Clarke is one of my all time favorite authors), but I’m not convinced that I could ever deliver that sort of story on the level the fanbase would expect. You give me the dystopian future sort of science fiction and I can deal with that, but the hardware specific kind is out of my area of expertise. Beyond that, nothing intimidates me, as I love challenging myself.. I’ll try ANY genre, save for romance, which I have not one solitary f**k to give about.

  6. These are great answers, everyone! Thanks for participating!

  7. I’ll take on any topic for the fun of it. I enjoy playing with subjects, merging ideas, surprising myself, mostly. Yes, surprising myself is what is the most fun!

  1. Pingback: So Romantic: Chapter 1 | Marc Gate

Leave a Reply

